May 22, 2012
Health Tip: Avoiding Gluten
A key task if you have celiac disease
(HealthDay News) -- People with celiac disease should avoid eating gluten, a protein found in some grains, especially wheat.
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics makes these suggestions for avoiding gluten:
- Always read food labels. Look for gluten-free foods that are fortified with iron and folate.
- Opt for whole grains that are naturally gluten free, such as buckwheat, quinoa, teff, millet, corn, flax and amaranth.
- Carefully read restaurant menus and ask questions about ingredients.