Health Tip: Video Game Ratings

What does each one mean?

Please note: This article was published more than one year ago. The facts and conclusions presented may have since changed and may no longer be accurate. And "More information" links may no longer work. Questions about personal health should always be referred to a physician or other health care professional.

(HealthDayNews) -- Like movies, video games are given ratings -- in this case by the Entertainment Software Ratings Board -- to help parents determine if a particular game is suitable for their children. The rating symbols are posted on the front of the box.

The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia explains what each one means:

  • EC (Early Childhood): suitable for ages 3 and up. Contains no material parents would find inappropriate.
  • E (Everyone): suitable for ages 6 and up. Titles may contain minimal violence, comic mischief or mild language.
  • T (Teen): suitable for ages 13 and up. May contain violent content, strong language and suggestive themes.
  • M (Mature): suitable for ages 17 and up. May contain sexual themes, more intense violence and strong language.
  • AO (Adults Only): 18 and older. May include graphic depictions of sex and violence.
  • RP (Rating Pending): awaiting final rating.


Last Updated:

Related Articles